Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Calvin 11:08 - Nov 2 with 62605 viewsmacro

Charged with violent conduct (I assume it's the challenge which Clarke went mad about)
Club going to protest against it so fingers crossed.
[Post edited 2 Nov 2016 11:37]
Calvin on 09:39 - Nov 5 with 2715 viewsfitzochris

Calvin on 09:19 - Nov 5 by DaleiLama

I am no lawyer but if there was a public prosecution does Clarke have to support it or can he drop charges? As of now he is the victim occupying the moral high ground but if the truth comes out all that is lost.

From memory (it's been a long time since I did any kind of English court reporting), the CPS can decide to prosecute.

I'm not 100% sure if they can should Clarke decide not to pursue a complaint, but I suspect they might. I think it depends on the seriousness of the offence.

Of course this has to be the result of a police investigation, I hasten to add.
[Post edited 5 Nov 2016 9:40]

Blog: Rochdale 2018/19 part three: Getting points on the board

Calvin on 09:44 - Nov 5 with 2701 viewsThe_DJ

Calvin on 09:08 - Nov 5 by fitzochris

I don't know.

I want to make it clear that I'm not mitigating Andrew's actions at all. Regardless of provocation, if any, what he did is unjustifiable, wrong, brutal, thuggish.

I called for confirmation of the offence. We got that in the form of the video evidence (albeit via the Daily Mail).

Anything beyond this is mere curiosity. I want to know why a man who both on and off the pitch comes across as a level-headed, decent individual smashed an opposition player when the ball was nowhere near the two of them.

It won't justify what he did, but maybe help people understand where he was coming from.